St. Thomas of the Pines

St. Thomas of the Pines

St Thomas of the Pines East Gull Lake Brainerd MN

 

This chapel is unique in that it has no registered parishioners, and is built on the seventh fairway of Madden’s Pine Beach East golf course, but is, none the less, a legally incorporated parish.
It is a tourist parish and open from Memorial Day to Labor Day.  At the height of the summer season nearly 900 people worshiped there every weekend.
The chapel was built in 1958 largely through the generosity of Arthur Roberts, who donated the land and $35,000 as a memorial to his son. 
St. Francis Church in Brainerd administered this parish at the beginning until St. Thomas was clustered with the new All Saints Catholic Church.
Finally, in June of 2014 it was announced that there would be two clusters in the Brainerd Area. St. Andrew & St. Mathias would be clustered together and St. Francis, All Saints and St. Thomas of the Pines in the other. We currently have two separate office now.

st thomas in the pines mn